The Midstate was well represented at Monday’s 2014 Tennessee Titans Mr. Football awards ceremony.

Of the 14 Middle Tennessee finalists, six took home the state’s top individual honors in their respective classifications.

Christ Presbyterian Academy’s Parker Howell, Pearl-Cohn’s Ke’Shawn Vaughn, Oakland’s Jack Jones, Blackman’s Jauan Jennings, Battle Ground Academy’s Clayton Beathard and Montgomery Bell Academy’s Cole Euverard each received awards Monday.

Howell, a standout two-way lineman for unbeaten CPA, received Lineman of the Year honors in Class AA, while Vaughn, a Mr. Football finalist in 2013, was named Back of the Year in Class AA.

“It’s incredible,” said Howell, who posted 74 knockdown blocks, 22 tackles and three sacks. “I was up there with a bunch of great players and it means the world to me.”

Jauan Jennings to enroll early for Vols

Vaughn, the catalyst of Pearl-Cohn’s prolific offensive attack, was virtually unstoppable this season, running for more than 2,500 yards while averaging 12.5 yards per carry.

“This is huge because last year I came up short,” Vaughn said. “This year I came back, fought hard and got that trophy. I also wanted a ring, but I’ll take this.”

Tennessee commitments Jones and Jennings also came up short of state championships this season, but the Rutherford County duo received consolation prizes Monday.

“Not being able to win a state title is still on my mind, but winning Mr. Football helps to ease the pain a little bit,” said Jennings, who beat out Ravenwood’s Van Jefferson for Back of the Year inClass AAA. “It’s just a humbling experience. It’s something I’ll never forget and I’m thankful for it.”

Said Jones, who took home AAA Lineman of the Year honors for the second straight year: “I’m feeling blessed. I thank God, my coaches, my teammates and my family for putting me in the position to win this award.”

Beathard, who beat out Friendship Christian’s Austin Taylor for Division II-A Back of the Year, ran for more than 2,500 yards from scrimmage and 28 total touchdowns this season.

“It feels awesome,” Beathard said. “It’s great to get one of these for my team and for my school. It’s awesome to know some of the best players in the nation have gotten this, and just to have my name on that banner is awesome.”

Euverard, the Division II-AA Back of the Year, has been equally as impressive for MBA, totaling 2,473 yards and 34 scores this season.

“It’s a huge honor,” Euverard said. “It’s awesome just to get the recognition for my school. It was a total team effort.”

Reach Michael Murphy at 615-259-8018 and on Twitter @Murph_TNsports.


Winners in CAPS

CLASS A LINEMAN  ZACH STEWART, Coalfield; Alex Givens, Nashville Christian; Tristan Jernigan, Union City

CLASS A BACK  KYLE AKIN, Trinity Christian Academy; Ricky Henry, Union City; Blake Zeman, Marion County

CLASS AA LINEMAN  PARKER HOWELL, CPA; Kyle Mitchell, Alcoa; Harrison Moon, Signal Mountain

CLASS AA BACK KE’SHAWN VAUGHN, Pearl-Cohn; Johnny Jones, Crockett County; Jaquez Tyson, Alcoa

CLASS AAA LINEMAN  JACK JONES, Oakland; Dylan Jackson, Maryville; Joshua McMillon, Whitehaven

CLASS AAA BACK  JAUAN JENNINGS, Blackman; Van Jefferson, Ravenwood; Malik McGue, Science Hill

DIVISION II-A LINEMAN  BRANT MITCHELL, Knoxville Webb; Trey Smith, USJ; Andrew Wood, Friendship Christian

DIVISION II-A BACK  CLAYTON BEATHARD, BGA; Chase Hayden, St. George’s; Austin Taylor, Friendship Christian

DIVISION II-AA LINEMAN DREW RICHMOND, MUS; Myles Douglas, Ensworth; Jackson Pittman, Brentwood Academy

DIVISION II-AA BACK COLE EUVERARD, MBA; Colton Neel, MUS; Alex Trotter, McCallie

KICKER OF THE YEAR  LASZLO TOSER, Ooltewah; Corey Fatony, Franklin; Thomas Garrison, Columbia Academy