Football: Bragg & McMurtry named Class 4-A All State by TSWA


By Kris Freeman, Sports Information Director, White House High School

NASHVILLE – Senior football players Dawson Bragg and Tyler McMurtry were named to the Class 4-A Tennessee Sports Writers Association All-State Team for 2017.

Tyler McMurtry Senior HeadshotMcMurtry, the Region 5-4A Defensive Player of the Year, led the team with 119 tackles and a total of six defensive categories, including a single-season record 9.5 sacks and 34 tackles for losses. McMurtry was a defensive end. He was the WHHS Defensive Lineman of the Year. McMurtry was also named a Player of the Week for WHHS by Farm Bureau Insurance.

Dawson Bragg Senior HeadshotBragg was a two-way player, starting at offensive tackle and rotating in among starters at defensive end. He did not allow a sack for the entire 2017 season and on defense made 42 tackles with a sack and eight tackles for losses. He also plays basketball for White House. Bragg was the All-Region 5-4A Offensive Line award winner and the WHHS Offensive Lineman of the Year. Like his teammate, Bragg also received the Farm Bureau Player of the Week award.



QB: Cade Ballard, Greeneville
QB: Stanton Martin, Anderson County
RB: Kamron Liggett, Marshall County
RB: Dontae Smith, Spring Hill
WR: Dayron Johnson, Springfield
WR: Keveon Mullins, Memphis East
WR: Dalton Wilson, Anderson County
OL: Dawson Bragg, White House
OL: Chris Everhart, Greeneville
OL: Nick Rideout, Greeneville
OL: Dave Roberts, Marshall County
OL: Thomas Roberts, Anderson County
ATH: Michael Jamahl McGhee, Chattanooga Central
K: Clayton Utley, Anderson County


DL: Jordan Branch, Crockett County
DL: Jacques Gillespie-Taylor, Greeneville
DL: Tavi McLean, Marshall County
DL: Tyler McMurtry, White House
LB: Mason Phillips, Anderson County
LB: Lorenzo Stewart, East Ridge
LB: Tristan Taylor, Haywood
LB: Ty Youngblood, Greeneville
DB: D’Corion Bryant, Springfield
DB: Seth Carlisle, Macon County
DB: Michael Carroll, Anderson County
DB: Seth Crawford, Greeneville
ATH: Decourtney Reed, Haywood
P: Zac Courter, Grainger



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: