615Preps: Blackburn Named To All-Area Football Team

White House junior quarterback/tailback Ranen Blackburn was named to the 615 Preps All-Area second team for the medium class divisions in 2020.

See the full article below.

By Chris Brooks for 615Preps

2020 615 Preps Medium Class All-Area Team

   Chris Brooks  0 Comments615 Preps All-Area Team

Continuing our inaugural 615 Preps All-Area Teams for the 2020 season, the second group of honorees comes from the Medium Class schools, made up of players from teams in Class 3A, Class 4A and Division II-Class AA.

The teams were comprised of players who were All-State selections, either by the Tennessee Sports Writers Association or the Tennessee Football Coaches Association. Players who made both teams became automatic First Team selections. All other players must have been first-team All-Region selections to qualify. Coach nominations were also considered for placement. 

In addition, superlatives for each team were chosen based on full-season performance (both regular season and postseason). 

SEE ALSO: 2020 615 Preps Small Class All-Area Team

Thanks to all the coaches who submitted players for the team, and congratulations to all the players selected this year. As a reminder, only players from the schools in our coverage area were eligible. 

2020 615 Preps Medium Class Superlatives

Player of the Year: Alex Broome, Lipscomb Academy, Jr.
Lipscomb Academy junior Alex Broome helped transform the Lipscomb Academy offense this season, piling up 30 touchdowns for the Mustangs. (Kevin Smtih/615 Preps)

Why chosen: Broome made a significant impact on offense and special teams in 2020, compiling 1,807 all-purpose yards (1,076 rushing, 465 receiving, 266 return yards) and 30 touchdowns to help lead the Mustangs to a runner-up finish in Division II-AA. He was also selected as a Mr. Football semifinalist for his efforts.

Offensive Player of the Year: Martino Owens, Pearl-Cohn, Sr.
Martino Owens had to wait more than a month to play his first game, but the Pearl-Cohn senior was extremely efficient once he did get on the field. (Kevin Smith/615 Preps)

Why chosen: Owens earned a Mr. Football finalist nomination despite not getting on the field until Week 6 after Metro Schools delayed the start of their teams’ seasons. No matter. Owens completed 72.2 percent of his passes for 1,840 yards and 28 touchdowns with only three interceptions in nine games as the Firebirds went undefeated until they fell at Milan in the Class 3A semifinals.

Defensive Player of the Year: Langston Patterson, CPA, Jr.
Langston Patterson’s two-way presence helped pave the way for CPA to win the Division II-Class AA state championship. (Kevin Smith/615 Preps)

Why chosen: Patterson had a big impact in the backfield — his own and opposing offenses — but it was on the defensive side where he helped guide the Division II-AA champion Lions with 72 tackles (19 for a loss) and 3.5 sacks. 

Special Teams Player of the Year: Brendan Jones, Goodpasture, Sr.
Goodpasture senior Brendan Jones returned five kicks for touchdowns this season, helping first-year Tyler Turner (left) lead the Cougars to their first semifinal berth in a decade. (Scott Burton/615 Preps)

Why chosen: In addition to being a big-play threat on offense — Jones had 1,394 yards of total offense and 23 touchdowns — he flipped the field with regularity for the Cougars. Jones averaged 34.4 yards per kickoff return with three touchdowns, and picked up 42 yards per punt return with two more scores. 

Coach of the Year: Tyler Turner, Goodpasture

Why chosen: Turner’s first year at the helm of the Goodpasture program turned out to be a successful one, leading the Cougars to their first winning season since 2016 and their first state semifinal game since 2010. 

First Team

  • Quarterback
  • Axel Aldino, DeKalb County, Sr.
  • Cade Law, CPA, Jr.     
  • Running Backs
  • Samson Johnson, Nolensville, Soph. 
  • Logan Nardozzi, Fairview, Sr.  
  • Wide Receivers
  • Kyndrich Breedlove, Pearl-Cohn, Sr. 
  • Desmond Nokes, DeKalb County, Sr. 
  • Xavier Shaw, BGA, Sr.
  • Tight End
  • Landon Whittemore, Macon County, Sr.
  • Offensive Line
  • Jack Baker, Fairview, Sr.        
  • Spencer Dams, CPA, Sr.         
  • William Griffin-Parker, Pearl-Cohn, Sr.          
  • Devin Lejsek, White House Heritage, Jr.
  • Chazan Page, Lipscomb Academy, Sr.
  • Athlete
  • Kevontez Hudson, Springfield, Sr.     
  • Cooper Pennington, Goodpasture, Sr.
  • Kicker
  • Ryan Young, Lipscomb Academy, Sr.
  • Defensive Line
  • Zion Morris, BGA, Jr.  
  • Grant Reeder, Nolensville, Sr.
  • Kevarius Smith, Springfield, Jr.          
  • Colin Stewart, CPA, Jr.
  • Linebackers
  • Jacoby Leatherwood, East Nashville, Sr.       
  • Eli Miller, Lipscomb Academy, Sr.     
  • Cade Reynolds, CPA, Sr.
  • Defensive Backs
  • Elijah Donaldson, Creek Wood, Sr.    
  • David Harris, Goodpasture, Sr.          
  • Reid Williford, CPA, Jr.            
  • Shelby Whiteside, CPA, Sr.
  • Athlete
  • Willie Berris, Lipscomb Academy, Sr. 
  • Jaden Lyles, Lipscomb Academy, Jr.  
  • Punter
  • Casen Cunningham, Montgomery Central, Jr.

Second Team

  • Quarterback
  • Ryder Galardi, Nolensville, Sr.
  • Luther Richesson, Lipscomb Academy, Jr.
  • Running Backs
  • I’ven Dayton, Pearl-Cohn, Sr. 
  • Rontavious Gregory, East Nashville, Sr.        
  • Brandon Porter, Creek Wood, Sr.      
  • Tyler Reid, CPA, Sr.    
  • Wide Receivers
  • Barion Brown, Pearl-Cohn, Jr.
  • Ben Coggin, Nolensville, Jr.   
  • Morgan Jean, Fairview, Jr.     
  • Josh Williams, Goodpasture, Jr.        
  • Tight End
  • Beau Dawson, Lipscomb Academy, Jr.          
  • Offensive Line
  • Evan Carney, CPA, Jr. 
  • Sam England, Creek Wood, Soph.
  • Corey Moseley, Pearl-Cohn, Sr.         
  • Tristan Petit, Springfield, Sr.  
  • Caven Ponder, DeKalb County, Sr.    
  • Athlete
  • Ranen Blackburn, White House, Jr.   
  • D’Arco Perkins-McCallister, Stratford, Sr.
  • Kicker
  • Jasper Kleparek, DeKalb County, Sr.                                      
  • Defensive Line
  • D.J. Burk, Smith County, Sr.   
  • Kamrin Garrett, Springfield, Sr.          
  • Tyler Nolen, Nolensville, Sr.
  • Linebackers
  • Andrew Bruce, Creek Wood, Jr.
  • Brody Cox, Fairview, Sr.         
  • Isaiah Harrington, DeKalb County, Jr.
  • Nathan Robinson, Greenbrier, Soph.
  • Defensive Backs
  • Ronnie Carr, Pearl-Cohn, Sr.
  • Bryce Fannin, Fairview, Sr.    
  • Ethan Jenkins, Macon County, Sr.     
  • Isaac Knowles, DeKalb County, Jr.     
  • Sean Williams, BGA, Jr.          
  • Athlete
  • Gabe Kelly, Springfield, Sr.    
  • Matthew Pack, Harpeth, Sr.  
  • Punter
  • Andrew Denney, Smith County, Sr.                                       

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: